Debbie’s Literary Resolution

This week in our Literary Resolutions blog series, we hear from Debbie Hampton, Blair’s director of design and production, about the book that is inspiring her resolutions.

***

kissesfromkatieI suppose we all make some sort of New Year’s resolution deep down inside and never really voice it to anyone. Mine is usually something like I will be a better Mom, daughter, sister, friend, etc. And that is easily tied into the book I resolved to read this year since it was given to me by my family for Christmas in 2012. The book, Kisses from Katie: A Story of Relentless Love and Redemption by Katie Davis, tells the story of an amazing young woman totally devoted to answering God’s call. She was a typical teenager living a comfortable life—planning for college, prospects of a good career, anticipating marriage to the love of her life—but, after a mission trip to Uganda to help with abandoned babies, her heart stirred and the pull to abandon a privileged life and be totally submissive to God changed her forever. By the age of 22 she had moved to Uganda, adopted 14 little homeless girls and founded Amazima ministries, a nonprofit organization dedicated to bettering the lives of underprivileged children.


By page 20 of this book I felt like the most selfish person that ever walked the earth. Here I am in my comfortable world of a steady job, a home, a wonderful family and friends, my wonderful church family, and God’s greatest gift of a beautiful daughter. How can I complain at all about anything or justify ever being in a bad mood or un-Christian in any way? But then I remember all that God has called me to do. To be a loving and caring Mother, daughter, friend, etc., and at the same time be a servant, be a giver, and be a helper to anyone in need. I fall short of all of these and I know by the end of this amazing story I’ll feel even more unworthy. But I hope to also feel even more inspired and reminded of enormous blessings.

katies-daughters

Katie Davis and her daughters

You can learn more about Katie Davis on her blog.

***

Check back next week for another post in our Literary Resolutions blog series. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

