Margaret’s Literary Resolution:

This week in our Literary Resolutions blog series, we hear from Blair’s Margaret Couch about how her reading group helped her stay on track.

***

I rarely make New Year’s resolutions, but I realized when I was asked to write a blog about book resolutions that I actually had already made one for 2014.

dad

Margaret’s father, Paul Couch.

Over the last few months, I’ve been going through papers and books at my parents’ place. Among my discoveries were my father’s C.  S. Lewis books. Growing up, we read some of Lewis’s fantasy books at the dinner table, and they were favorites. However, I don’t recall ever reading any of his nonfiction books. Instead of putting the books I was going through into the giveaway box, I brought most of them home, thinking I would get around to reading one or more sometime in the future.Covers

One Lewis book in particular that I had always wanted to read was Mere Christianity. I remember my father recommending that one, and I was happy to have his copy in my possession. But as is my habit, once the book was in my house, I never picked it up to read. I prefer fiction and always have a stack of books either on the bedside table or on my list to read. CoverI realized I would probably never read any of C. S. Lewis’s theologically based books unless I made myself accountable to a group. It was then that I thought about starting a book club at my church. In talking with members there, I found others who wanted to join me in reading and discussing issues presented in books such as Mere Christianity. Our group started meeting in January, and I have, as I anticipated, kept myself on track and read each section of the book in preparation for our weekly meetings. I give my thanks to the group for unknowingly getting me off to a good start on keeping my resolution.

***

Check back in next week for more in our Literary Resolutions blog series. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

