You’re Good With Me, Crows

This week in our Summer Reading Series Heath Simpson, Blair’s warehouse manager, talks about the bird life outside his window at work.

***

IMG_1180This summer I read Crow Planet: Essential Wisdom from the Urban Wilderness by Lyanda Lynn Haupt about how the author enjoys watching urban wildlife in Seattle. Even in urban Winston-Salem, wild creatures are making lives for themselves. The crows outside my workplace know my name (in crow) and my face. Yesterday as I walked out to my car they had a lot to say and it was not happy talk. I wish I could say to them, “You’re good with me, crows.”

IMG_1181

The branches outside my window where the baby birds hang out.

 

But not when my other bird friends are raising their children nearby. Parent birds teach their babies to munch on berries right outside my window and two years ago I watched in horror as a crow almost snatched a young bird out of midair.

IMG_1183

The tree tops where the crows perch and scout out their prey.

So when baby birds and adult crows are visiting I might step outside (with attitude). I might stand in the middle of the road and glare at a crow at the top of a tree. I might take a yard stick outside. Crows notice odd activity. Crows get uncomfortable when humans take an interest in their snack choices. They aren’t happy but they move along…

…Maybe for a leftover chicken biscuit down the street at Bojangles.

***

Check back next week for another entry in our Summer Reading Series and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

