Blair Books in Action by Angela Harwood: When the Dogwoods are Blooming, the Crappie are Biting—A Pictorial History

January 2011: Brought home copy of Fishing North Carolina.

000_FishingNorthCarolina

My husband is immediately taken with the book, and I begin to feel like I’m being stalked by Mike Marsh.

001b_MikeMarsh001d_MikeMarsh001c_MikeMarsh001e_MikeMarsh

Mid-January 2011: Jeff purchases an inexpensive john boat with bad rivets.

001_FirstBoatLaunch Party 002

Late January 2011: It is above 50 degrees, so we try out the new boat at Lake Brandt. We’ve known each other since we were in the 7th grade, and I’ve rarely seen Jeff so happy.

002a_HappiestJeff


This is Jeff’s happy face.

February 2011: Jeff purchases expensive “marine wood” to make new seats for the inexpensive boat. He refuses to paint my seat pink.

003_BoatSeatReplacement

March 2011: Based on information I’ve gleaned from reading Fishing North Carolina and a few of Mike Marsh’s fishing articles in North Carolina Sportsman magazine, I decide to upgrade my fishing lures. Jeff tells me I will never catch anything with my new lures.

I call this lure my red guy.

003a_RedGuy

I catch this crappie with my red guy.

005_MyFish

And this crappie . . .

006a_MyCrappie

Jeff snags this brehm.

004_JeffsFish

August 2011: I admit that I don’t catch fish with any of these guys.

003b_Lures

January 2012: Jeff purchases a brand-new boat with good rivets.

007a_SecondBoat007_SecondBoat

We both agree that the new boat feels much more like home.

009_DinnerCruise

April 2012:  I am now quoting Bill Dance in regular, every day conversations.

“When the dogwoods are blooming, the crappie are biting.”


“When the dogwoods are blooming, the crappie are biting.”

Well, the dogwoods are blooming, and this is my crappie.

006_AnotherMyFish


I let Jeff hold my crappie.

June 2012: Thanks to Fishing North Carolina, we find out that Lake Higgins is open until 11 p.m. on Friday nights all summer long.

010_LakeHiggins

So we go night fishing.

011_NightFishing

I catch this catfish after dark. (Jeff’s catfish puts up a big fight and is probably bigger than mine, but it gets away while we are trying to get it into the boat.)

012_Catfish

April 2013: A new season of fishing awaits! It’s not too late to purchase your own copy of Fishing North Carolina, available wherever books are sold and at blairpub.com.

000_FishingNorthCarolina

3 thoughts on “Blair Books in Action by Angela Harwood: When the Dogwoods are Blooming, the Crappie are Biting—A Pictorial History

Leave a Reply

