Don’t care for Irish mysteries? Try Swedish thrillers instead.

We’re back with summer reading list #2, this time from Carolyn, Blair Publisher’s president. If you didn’t care for the Irish mysteries sales director Angela offered in our last summer reading list post, maybe one of Carolyn’s suggestions will interest you. Check it out below.

__

This summer I plan to escape to Sweden. Although I can’t afford the expense or the time off to actually go to Sweden, I plan to dive into a couple of books that will take me there. After recently seeing the Swedish movie version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I wonder if others who’ve seen this movie wanted to travel on Swedish trains as much as I do now. I was also reminded of how fascinating I found the characters that Stieg Larsson created in the first two books of this trilogy, so I’ll start my summer reading with The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, the final installment of the trillogy. I know, this seems to be on everyone’s summer reading list…but that’s got to mean something, right?

I plan to stay in Sweden with The Man from Beijing, the latest offering from another Swedish master of thrillers, Henning Mankell. I have to admit, I got addicted to his Kurt Wallander mysteries even before seeing Kenneth Branagh’s BBC performance. But in this book, Judge Birgitta Roslin tries to solve the complicated web of mysteries behind the massacre of 19 people in a Swedish village. Henning’s one fascinating man–not only have his books been published in 33 countries, but he also divides his time between Sweden and Maputo, Mozambique, where he has worked as a director at Teatro Avenida since 1986.

As the summer moves on, I guess I’ll leave Sweden and go off, yet again, to the world of vampires with The Passage by Justin Cronin. The Passage takes readers on a journey from the early days of a apocalyptic virus to the aftermath of destruction, where packs of the infected scour razed, charred cities looking for food, and the survivors eke out a bleak existence shadowed by fear. Hey, True Blood has started up again, so I might as well hang out with vampires when I leave Sweden–even if Cronin’s beasts aren’t the dark, handsome type.

One thought on “Don’t care for Irish mysteries? Try Swedish thrillers instead.

  1. Oh – that’s looks interesting – The Man from Beijing – haven’t read that Mankell yet. Thanks for the tip. I like his work.

Leave a Reply

